The Hudson River Valley


The Hudson River Valley is one of 49 Congressionally designated National Heritage Areas in the United States. As one of the most important regions in the United States, it is the fountainhead of a truly American identity. Recognizing the area's national value, Congress formed the Hudson River Valley National Heritage Area in 1996 to recognize, to preserve, to protect, and to interpret the nationally-significant history and resources of the Valley for the benefit of the nation.

The Hudson River Valley Institute at Marist College is the academic arm of the Hudson River Valley National Heritage Area. Its mission is to study and to promote the Hudson River Valley and to provide educational resources for heritage tourists, scholars, elementary school educators, environmental organizations, the business community, and the general public. Its many projects include the publication of the Hudson River Valley Review and the management of a dynamic digital library and leading regional portal site.

The Digital Library contains a collection of heritage sites, documents, organizations, lesson plans, and related links to guide you through the Hudson River Valley. Its content and portals are designed to draw people--electronically and physically--from around the world to the Hudson River Valley to experience its scenic, cultural, economic, and historical resources.





THV logo button hrvh logo hrvnha circle logo  

Marist logo

NEH horizontal logo

The Hudson River Valley Institute at Marist College is supported by a major grant
from the National Endowment for the Humanities.