Delaware and Hudson (D&H) Canal Museum
High Falls, NY 12440
Hours: May through October Friday, Saturday & Sunday 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
"The Delaware and Hudson Canal was a 108-mile, man-made waterway, an engineering feat of preindustrial America that brought a new form of energy from the hills of Pennsylvania out to the Hudson River. From 1828 to 1898, mules pulled barges laden with anthracite coal along river valleys from Honesdale in northeastern Pennsylvania to Eddyville on the Rondout Creek near the villages of Kingston and Rondout. From here, it was shipped on barges down the Hudson to New York City and up the river to Canada."
"The D&H Canal Museum features an outstanding example of a late 19th century gothic chapel, which was the first (and only) Episcopal church built in the historic hamlet of High Falls. St. John's parishioners included many employees of the D&H Canal, including local lock tenders. The first floor of the parish house featured a social hall with a stage where school plays and dances were held. As recorded in a 1946 history of the church, St. John's was "acclaimed to be architecturally and ecclesiastically a gem." The parish house currently houses a museum which interprets the unique history of the Delaware & Hudson Canal by
collecting and preserving documents, printed materials, art and artifacts relating to the D&H Canal."
From NYS Thruway Exit 19 - Kingston:
After toll booth take first right onto Route 28, proceed through traffic light and take (second) right exit for Route 209 South (toward Ellenville). Continue approximately 10 miles through town of Stone Ridge. At the second traffic light turn left (East) onto Route 213. Continue approximately 2 miles into High Falls; turn right on Mohonk Road/County Route 6A (opposite Egg’s Nest Restaurant). The Museum is located 1/10 mile on the left in a former Episcopal Church.
From NYS Thruway Exit 18 in New Paltz:
After toll booth turn left (West) at the "T" onto Route 299 into the village of New Paltz. Turn right onto
Route 32 North to Rosendale. Then turn left (West) onto Route 213 and go approximately 4 miles to High Falls; take the first left on Mohonk Road/County Route 6A (just past Rock Cliff House Restaurant). The Museum is located 1/10 mile on the left in a former Episcopal Church.